Nadi and Chakra system

According to Yogic Physiology human body consists of Nadi, Granthi, Chakra and different types of Vyana. Let’s understand the Nadis and Chakras:-


According to vedic scriptures there 72,000 nadis in human body. The network of nadis help Prana flow in body. For a healthy body and mind it is very important that prana flows in the body freely. When there is blockage or hinderance in the flow of prana there are chances of creating ‘Vyadhi’.

Out of all Nadis, 3 of them have special importance – IDA, PINGALA and SUSHUMNA

  • IDA arises in the left side of the body and represents the moon principle.
  • PINGALA begins on the right side of the body and symbolises the sun principle.
  • SUSHUMNA runs through the central channel of the spinal cord and represents the consciousness.

When you breath through the right nostril the prana flows prominently in Ida. And when your breath heavily through the left, the prana flows through Pingala. These 2 represents duality of the living.

Sushumna Nadi is the center. Activation of sushumna, makes a person more tranquil , calm and  joyful. Balancing the Sushumna is a state many try to achieve!


Point of intersection of these 3 nadis makes a whirlpool of energy along the spine called chakras.

There are 7 main chakras in the human body. The energy rises from the base of the spine to the crown of the body.

Mooladhara Chakra: If a person operates from this energy center, then the person seeks security and focuses on survival.

Swadisthana Chakra: A person operating from the sacral chakra seeks pleasure and sex.

Manipura Chakra: If the energies are around manipura(behind Naval), then that person is a doer and enjoys power. Till here all the Chakras are found in other species also.

Anahata chakra: The energy from the heart center emits pure love, creativity making the person very loving.

Vishuddhi chakra: If your energies are dominant in vishuddhi (throat), you become non judgmental.

Ajna chakra: If your energies are dominant in the third eye, a person is intellectual, intuitive and lives in harmony with everything around.

Sahasrara chakra: People who attain enlightenment are represented with the  halo. This is the ultimate state which you want to attain.


Haha Yoga can helps you activate Sushumna. Pranayama helps in awakening the Sushumna.

According to Tantra, Kundalini energy rests like a coiled serpent at the base of the spine. When this dormant energy flows freely upward through the seven chakras. It leads to an expanded state of consciousness, it’s known as a kundalini awakening.

For some, the experience can be blissful and filled with feelings of love and a sense of the interconnectedness of all things. For others, it can feel more like a bad drug trip, or even a psychotic break, where practitioners go through altered sleep cycles, changes in identity or depression. This discrepancy has led many people to fear the coiled serpent resting in their spine, ready to strike.

Considered a form of spiritual energy, raising Kundalini requires one be firmly disciplined in both mind and body in order to be properly prepared to embrace the responsibility that comes with Kundalini awakening.

Love and peace

Alternative Text

ItI jain

Yogi. Blogger. Storyteller After, a decade of being a fitness enthusiast and various trial and errors with corporate jobs and teaching (post a PG degree in Management).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Responsive image




Studio - enquiry x